Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Child-At-Risk Hotline
If you know or suspect that a child is being abused or neglected, please report it immediately. Anyone can file a report of abuse or neglect.
- Disabled Persons Protection Commission Hotline
If you know or suspect that a person with a disability is being abused or neglected, please report to the Disabled Person's Protection Commission (DPPC) 24-hour Hotline. For information on recognizing abuse and neglect, click here.
- Disaster Assistance
Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) provides MA residents and visitors emergency preparedness resources, emergency alerts, and information during and after emergencies and disasters.
- Elder Abuse Hotline
Elder Abuse Reports can be filed 24 hours a day either online or by phone at (800) 922-2275. Elder abuse includes: physical, sexual, and emotional abuse, caretaker neglect, financial exploitation and self-neglect.
- Safelink Domestic Violence Hotline
Callers to SafeLink receive confidential "help at the end of the line" 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. SafeLink's specially trained advocates provide support in English, Spanish, Portuguese, and have access to TTY and translation services that can provide interpretation in over 140 languages.
- Senior Legal Helpline
The Senior Legal Helpline provides free legal information & referral services to Massachusetts residents who are 60 years old or older. Open Monday - Friday 9 am - 12 pm.
- American Bar Association Free Legal Answers
If you meet certain guidelines regarding income and the nature of your legal problem, a lawyer from your state will answer your question about a civil legal issue and email you a response. You can use this website to ask 3 different legal questions per year.
Asian Task Force Against Domestic Violence
ATASK aims to give clients necessary legal information to improve their situations. With the help of ATASK advocates, clients have immediate access to legal advice and improved coordination of legal services and representation.
Office Phone 617-338-2350
Children’s Law Center of Massachusetts
The mission of the Children's Law Center of Massachusetts is to promote and secure equal justice and to maximize opportunity for low-income children and youth by providing quality advocacy and legal services.
Phone: 1-888-KIDLAW8 or 888-543-5298
- Civil Legal Aid for Victims of Crime (CLAVC)
Offers a wide variety of civil legal services to victims of crime. To get help from a CLAVC lawyer (1) You must be a victim or a survivor of a crime (2) You must have a civil (non criminal) legal problem that is a result of that crime; and (3) You must live in Massachusetts, or the legal problem must be in Massachusetts.The crime does not need to have been reported to the police or prosecuted. Contact the program directly by calling 855-252-5342 or apply for help online.
Disability Law Center - Massachusetts
Disability Law Center provides information, referral, technical assistance and representation regarding legal rights and services for people with disabilities.
Phone: 800.872.9992 or 617.723.8455
- Greater Boston Legal Services (GBLS)
GBLS provides free legal assistance and representation on civil (noncriminal) matters to low income residents in the city of Boston and 31 surrounding cities and towns.
Main Office: 197 Friend Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone: 617-371-1234; Toll-free: 1-800-323-3205; TDD: 617-371-1228
- In the Aftermath of a Crime: A Guide to Victim Rights and Services in Massachusetts
Information for victims, survivors, and those who support them. Focuses on the emotional and psychological impact of crime, the complexities of navigating the criminal justice system and the rights to which victims, witnesses and families are entitled under MA law. Prepared by the Massachusetts Office of Victim Assistance (MOVA) and the Victim Witness Assistance Board.
Legal Services Center
Offering legal services to low-income communities in areas such as Veteran's Law, Disability, Family/Domestic Violence, Housing, and much more.
Location: 122 Boylston Street, Jamaica Plain, MA
- Mass Legal Help
Find practical information about your legal rights in Massachusetts. Get basic legal information on a wide range of topics and find out if you are eligible to receive legal aid.
- Massachusetts Law About....
Guides to hundreds of Massachusetts legal topics including laws, regulations, cases, and websites.
- Mass Legal Services
The Legal Resource Finder search results will give you contact information for legal aid programs, nonprofits, government agencies and court programs that may be able to help you with your legal issue for free or at a low cost. It will also give you links to legal information and self-help materials.
- Mass Trial Court
The state of Massachusetts provides self-help legal information about many areas, including housing, family law, small claims and traffic and ticket offenses. Also includes information about court forms, court house locations and hours. You can also use this website to ask questions of a law librarian via chat or email.
Mental Health Legal Advisors Committee
The Mental Health Legal Advisors Committee works to enhance and protect the rights of persons with mental health concerns in key areas most closely related to their ability to live full and independent lives free of discrimination. All callers who present with a legal issue related to mental health within broad priorities will receive basic advice and referral information.
24 School Street, Suite 804
Boston, MA 02108
617.338.2345; Toll Free- MA only: 800.342.9092
MHLAC@mhlac.org; (intake email) Intake@mhlac.org
National Advocacy Oraganizations
- Homeless Youth Legal Network
The American Bar Association created the Homeless Youth Legal Network to increase legal services for youth and young adults experiencing homelessness. Click here for a directory of legal providers that offer services to youth experiencing homelessness. All of the programs listed provide their services for free to low-income individuals.
- Immigration Law Help
Immigration Law Help was designed to address the lack of reliable information available to low-income immigrants by providing an easy-to-use online directory of legal services providers. In addition to the ability to search for nonprofit legal services by state, county, and detention facility, the website allows users to find organizations by languages spoken, types of legal and other services provided, and specific areas of legal assistance. It is available in English and Spanish.
- Lambda Legal
National organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and everyone living with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.
- Legal Services Corporation
Legal Services lawyers are federally-funded attorneys that serve low income, eligible persons. To find the legal services program in your community, visit the Legal Services Corporation website, then select your home state for a full directory of program offices and locations. The staff of your local federally-funded legal services office may also be able to refer you to other lawyers that help low-income residents in your area.
- National Center for Law and Economic Justice
NCLEJ works with low-income families, individuals, communities, and a wide range of organizations to advance the cause of economic justice through ground-breaking, successful litigation, policy work, and support of grassroots organizing around the country.
- National Disability Rights Network
NDRN is the nonprofit membership organization for the federally mandated Protection and Advocacy (P&A) Systems and Client Assistance Programs (CAP). There is a P&A/CAP agency in every state and U.S. territory as well as one serving the Native American population in the four corners region. For a directory of member agencies, click here.
Phone: 202-408-9514; TTY: 220-408-9521
- National Health Law Program
The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) protects and advances the health rights of low-income and underserved individuals and families. NHeLP advocates, educates and litigates at the federal and state levels.
- National Housing Law Project
NHLP provides programs and services to affordable housing attorneys and nonprofit housing advocacy organizations. If you are an individual tenant, homeowner or homeless person and need direct assistance, please visit the Housing Initiatives webpage.
- National Law Center on Homelessness & Poverty
The Law Center is dedicated to ending and preventing homelessness. It works to expand access to affordable housing, meet the immediate and long-term needs of those who are homeless or at risk, and strengthen the social safety-net.