- American Experience
View complete episodes of select films from the acclaimed PBS documentary series.
- Annenberg Learner
Part of the Annenberg Foundation, Annenberg Media uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. The Learner.org web site provides access to many of the exceptional educational video programs developed with grant money as telecourses, including series on algebra, art, chemistry, economics, film, history, poetry, and foreign languages, among others.
Not all series listed on the site are available for streaming. Look for the VoD graphic to identify programs available for online viewing . Videos stream in Flash. Many of the videos include closed captioning. Users accessing the site on a PC have greater control over the size of the playback window.
- BBC's A History of the World in 100 Objects
Director of the British Museum, Neil MacGregor, narrates 100 programa that retell humanity's history through the objects we have made. Each episode consists of an image of the item discussed, and a radio naration lasting about 15 minutes.
Many full episodes of the A&E Biography series are available for free at the Biography website. To find full episodes, navigate to the "People" section of the site, use the search bar to search for a name, and then follow the link to that individual's page. Near the bottom of the page will be a selection of videos related to that person, and any full episodes, if available, will appear here.
Provides streaming access to a large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots, cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakes, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.
A project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (MITE), HippoCampus provides high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects to high school and college students.
- Internet Archive : Cultural & Academic Films
This library of academic and cultural films features collections from the Academic Film Archive and the Media Burn Independent Film Archive, as well as a selection of documentaries created by Dorothy Fadiman. In addition, films from the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archeology and Anthropology are presented including those by Watson Kintner who used film to document his world travels, and the popular television show from the 1950s: “What in the World?”
- Lannan Foundation
The Lannan Foundation is a family foundation dedicated to cultural freedom, diversity and creativity through projects which support exceptional contemporary artists and writers, as well as inspired Native activists in rural indigenous communities.
The site provides access to 15 years of audio and video recordings from live events and interviews with notable authors, scholars, and activists. The site also provides @450 brief biographies.
There are separate search interfaces for biographies, audio files, and videos. More recordings are included on the foundations podcast site, which is available for subscription via iTunes.
- Link TV Documentaries
Link TV is a non-commercial television station broadcast locally in California and nationally via satellite TV providers. A selection of full length documentaries are available for streaming on the site.
- National Film Board of Canada
Enjoy documentaries, animations, alternative dramas and interactive productions on the web.
- New Day Digital
New Day Films, a member-owned distribution cooperative offering quality, compelling social issue films provides streaming access to nearly 90 documentary films.
The company’s use of pay-per-view streaming is unique among leading educational media distributors.
Individual use of a title for 90 days costs about $5.
New Day Digital’s Terms of Service prohibit showing the films in a classroom or to groups when the individual students or members have not acquired individual licenses and also prohibits sharing of individual On Demand login information.
Using New Day Digital requires setting up a customer account on the site including registering credit card information for making payments.
- The Open Video Project
Open collection of documentary and historical films from a variety of sources.
"founded upon the unprecedented collaborative effort of eight of the most noteworthy independent film distributors in the United States, each respected for the depth of their industry experience and the vitality of their collections."
- PBS LearningMedia
Developed by PBS, WNET, and KET, and 31 other PBS stations. Content contributed from publicly funded organizations, including the National Archives, the Library of Congress and NPR, NASA, the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health and the US Department of Education, delivers thousands of resources for use in the classroom and with home-schoolers.
Content aligns with Common Core State Standards for preK-16 classrooms. This collection contains more that than 114,000 research-based instructional resources – including videos, interactives, images, audio files, mobile apps, lesson plans, and worksheets.
Requires personal registration on the site.
- PBS Video
Provides access to selected programs from selected PBS series (such as Nature, American Experience, Nova, and Frontline, among others.) Users can browse by Programs, Topics, or Collections. Individual programs are subdivided into smaller segments.
- POV Video
Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.
- SnagFilms - Documentary Category
Provides access to full-length documentary films from established distributors and first-time filmmakers. The Snag Films Documentary category includes more than 1400 films.
- WGBH Open Vault
Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.